Catherine Wolffe – Featured Author

Posted: September 23, 2012 in Featured Authors
Tags:

I’d like to thank Catherine Wolffe for being here with us today. Please read her responses to my questions below. You can also get a free sample of Catherine’s latest book The Lady in the Mist (A Werewolf’s Tale) which will be coming out soon. 

Do you recall how your interest in writing started?

Reading has always been a love of mine, especially the romance genre. I would say, writing began to interest me about the time I picked up my first Nora Roberts book in the early 1990’s. I had started reading for pleasure with all the books by Kathleen Woodiwiss, but Nora writing as J.D. Robb spoke to me. I couldn’t get enough of the In Death books. My day job is a solitary one, so I listen to her books on audio while I work and travel.

What inspired you to write your first book?

My love of the wild west was the beginning inspiration for Comanche Haven. That time in history is like none other and I wanted to capture the challenges faced by those who lived there and braved the dangers of exploring that untamed world. The story of the west will continue with the second book in the Loflin Legacy, Waking up Dead.

Your latest novel is scheduled for release later this year. Where did the idea for The Lady and the Mist, A Werewolf’s Tale come from?

As I said, I love the wild west and I thought combining my love for cowboys, the Civil War and werewolves would be intriguing. The story begins following a skirmish between the Union and Confederate armies. Sonja Brooks, a young widow and newly turned werewolf comes across a dying soldier and saves him. Little does she know how her kindness will affect both their lives.

How did you come up with the title?

The battle scene where Sonja discovers Tyler Loflin is something Ty will never forget. He spots her in the distance walking toward him. Smoke and fog cover the swamp and she resembles a vision. He’s so weak, he figures he’s imagining her. Even when he wakes in a strange, new place, he can’t forget the lady in the long woolen cape or her tender touch. It’s the beginning of a change for him.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Love is greater than any misfortune or gift. Love conquers all.

Did you learn anything from writing your book? Is so, what was it?

Yes, I learned I can write while the bullets fly. That time in my personal life was filled with distractions. I found that writing was the one escape that kept me sane.

What are your current projects?

I’m working on three projects at the moment. The first is the second in the Loflin Legacy – Waking up Dead, which will center around Seth’s brother, Tyron Loflin. Next in line is a continuation of the story of J.T. Leighton, Private Investigator and Time Traveler. Finally, I will reunite Tyler Loflin with his family back in Texas and bring the family closer together with the telling of the second book in the Werewolf Saga.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, editing is tough for me. I want to get the story told, but I hate self-editing.

You’re an Indie Author, right? What do you like most about going Indie and what do you dislike?

Yes, I’m an Indie author and I love the control I have over my work. The story I want to tell is all my idea. I don’t have to answer to anyone except my editor, cover artist and publishing team. I love the freedom! The thing I like least has to be the chore of self-publicity. In my opinion, prompting myself cuts into the time I could be writing. But, in the end, it all balances out when I hear from my readers. They are great!

With your readers in mind, anything you’d like to say to them today?

Oh, yes. Thank you all for your support. Please feel free to contact me anytime. I love hearing from you. Patience will be my guide word as I continue on this ebook journey as an Indie author. My works may be shorter than you’re used to in the paperback format, but rest assured, I won’t quit until the story is complete. I look forward to giving away a free copy of my novel, when it’s released in October to one lucky person who comments on today’s interview.

Ally, I want to thank you so much for having me today. I had a great time!

Award-winning author Catherine Wolffe lives in the south with her incredibly supportive husband and her loving sons and their families (including two beautiful grandchildren). She is currently writing the western romance series, the Loflin Legacy. In the first book Comanche Haven, Celia, the emerald-eyed, Comanche half-breed, gets off the stage in Tyler, Texas, and Seth Loflin realizes he is on a collision course with the past.  She was his first love and now the Shooter Creek’s ranch boss can’t allow her to succumb to the danger that stalks her.  Someone wants to kidnap her and sell her as a slave, but now that she’s in his protective arms, he intends to keep her safe.  Celia can’t run back to the safety of her former life in South Carolina.  And if she stays at Shooter Creek.

Catherine’s publisher  is Smashwords. You can also learn more about Catherine at these links. Website | Amazon Author page | Smashwords Facebook | Twitter | Award-winning Author Catherine Wolffe on Facebook

Leave a Reply

