Today’s Featured Author is Sallie Lundy-Frommer

Posted: October 6, 2012 in Featured Authors
Tags:

Today’s featured author is Sallie Lundy-Frommer. Sallie was born on a farm in the rural South of the United States of America to a family of migrant farm workers and is the youngest of ten children. At an early age, her family moved to the urban Northeast. She now lives in the suburban Northeast with her husband and a large assortment of plants. She holds bachelors and masters degrees in Human Resource Management and currently works in the health care industry. Sallie is presently writing the sequel to Yesterday’s Daughter.

Tell us about your life, where you live and why you write.

I grew up in a huge family. Nowadays, the average American family is 2.6. And no, I don’t know what that .6 is. But, I’m the youngest of ten children. I have six brothers and three sisters. In the rural south, large families used to be common because lots of children were needed to work the farm. When I was four years old, my family moved to the urban northeast. We moved away from the cotton fields and a brutal labored existence.

If we hadn’t moved from the south, I have no idea who I would have become. Back then, especially among the poor on farms, working the crops was more important than education. Fast forward to today, a bunch of school, several jobs and a decade or two later and viola, here I am. I’m an author. And as for why I write, I don’t want to sound cliché. But, I wrote “Yesterday’s Daughter” because the story was in me, just hankering to get out. Yes, you can ignore the push to write. I did for years because I didn’t think of myself as a writer. But in the end, I had to write it.

What inspired you to write your first book?
That’s easy!!!! Yesterday’s Daughter came to me in my dreams. There was no conscious process or thought to come up with book characters. I just think that the years of reading paranormal romance novels and seeing movies with supernatural characters inspired me.

What book are you reading now?
I’m reading Archangel’s Storm (Guild Hunter series). Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter Series is brilliant and engaging in every way that make books page tuners. Nalini Singh is such an amazing writer. I’m very much in awe of her ability to world build, develop characters and swirl it all together to create amazing stories, one after another.

Who is your most popular character? Why do your readers like or dislike this character?
Hands down it’s Sapphira and Malachi. I know you asked which “character” is most popular, but Malachi and Sapphira are equally admired. Why? Malachi is a dream come true. Yes, he’s physically attractive, but what makes him sexy as all get out is his complete devotion to Sapphira. Now that is hot!!! And, Sapphira is greatly appreciated because readers see her survive much and evolve into her destiny. The couple is well-liked because people root for love. And, Yesterday’s Daughter is very much a love story.

Who designed the covers?
Createspace rocks!! They asked if I had a drawing or picture I could provide them to aid in the design of the cover. But I didn’t have any. But Sapphira was so clear to me, vibrant. If I’d passed her on the sidewalk, I’d have known her. So, I gave them a list of attributes, eye, hair, skin color, facial expression and such. They nailed it on the second attempt. OMG, did they nail it. It’s like she walked out of my dreams.

Are you an Indie Author? If so, what do you like about independent publishing?
I’m an Indie author. I didn’t pitch to many traditional publishers. One might have a better chance of being struck by lightning than being picked up by one of the traditional publishers. I don’t have that kind patience. I worked hard on my story and I wanted to be published sooner rather than later or never. So, I self-published. What I like about self-publishing is that I had total control. Also and of greatest importance is I keep all rights to my work. And I love self-publishing because of the speed at which I can publish and work at my own pace.

Do you have any advice for other writers?
I’m no expert! Yesterday’s Daughter is my first novel, but the best advice I would give an aspiring writer is to write with all your heart. Get to know other writers. Surround yourself with those who know the craft. Join writers’ blogs and websites and then write some more.

You can also learn more about Sallie at the following links.  Website Amazon Author page |  Facebook | Twitter  | Yesterday’s Daughter on Facebook

Comments
  1. Awesome interview and I’m adding yet another book to my TBR list with this one (but it’s been there for a while now). I couldn’t agree more with the self-publishing. If I pitched my books to the traditional publishers, I’d probably never hear back from them. And in your case, it sounds like we’d be missing out on great characters and a intriguing story line!

    Keep writing and I can’t wait to read this book!

Leave a Reply

