In the Summer of 2005 when my mother passed away, I suddenly inherited several of her rose bushes.  That may not be exactly what you think you’ll inherit from a parent, but I knew my mother had loved and grown roses all her life. I knew how much she loved her roses. I was a fan of roses, but I didn’t do a lot of gardening. When she’d visit me in Texas, we’d go see the roses at the Botanical Gardens. That’s about as close as I got to roses. So when my sister suggested I take several rose bushes with me to my home in Texas, I knew I could not disagree.

In my mom’s later years, she had taken to growing Hybrid Tea roses in large containers on her porch in Northeast Louisiana (Duck Dynasty country to the people who are fans of that show). But one rose bush had been planted at the corner of her porch in Louisiana red clay. It was a rose bush with pink clusters, and while it did not grow much where it was located, it did bloom every Easter. I remember many portraits of all of us kids standing in front of that straggly rose bush.

I had never asked my mom where she got that rose bush because as a kid and young adult those things don’t seem to really matter. When my sister told me it was our grandmother’s, and that Mom had planted it the first week she and my dad had moved into their red brick house some thirty-five years earlier as newlyweds, I knew I wanted to transplant that rose bush with the pink clusters, and take it to Texas along with a few other hybrid teas in containers.

Being ten years, my senior, my sister told me step by step what to do for transplanting it from Louisiana to Texas. The first year I let it grow in a very large pot on my back porch along with the others, the next February in 2007 I took a leap of faith and planted all of them in a sunny spot by our driveway. I wanted to be able to see them every morning when I left to go to work and every evening when I returned.

Unfortunately, last year, I gave up on trying to make the hybrid teas grow. Between the hot summers and black spots on the leaves, I replaced them with knockout roses.

But the other rose bush, the one that was originally my grandmother’s, survived and flourished in our Texas soil. I’m pretty sure that rose bush I inherited is called a fairy rose. It’s very hardy and loves being in Texas, like I do. I have had to trim it back a few times to keep it from growing in front of our walkway to the backyard. And this February I’ll be in the process of adding another fairy rose to my small garden of roses.

Along with other roses like the Knockout Rose, the Veteran’s Honor Rose, and the Moonstone Rose, the Fairy Rose grows extremely well in Texas. I got really lucky with acquiring the little pink rose bush which isn’t that little anymore as you can see by the picture.

About the Fairy Rose

Another flower defined as easy to care for, the Fairy rose produces a spray of small, compact blooms that have a very light apple scent. If left to grow wild, this plant will form a dense shrub-like mound completely covering the ground. Extremely resistant to disease, this rose does well in warmer climates and hot weather zones like Texas. People like this rose for the mass effect of many small rose blooms appearing all summer and very low maintenance. even though they grow to about 3 feet tall, Fairy rose bushes also create beautiful ground cover.

Source: http://www.ehow.com/info_8176728_roses-texas.html

Leave a Reply

